About the UH Libraries

Right Block

M. D. Anderson Library

M.D. Anderson Library

UH Libraries

The University of Houston Libraries is a research library system serving University of Houston students, faculty, staff and the scholarly community.

The system comprises the MD Anderson Library, the William R. Jenkins Architecture and Art Library, the Weston A. Pettey Optometry Library, and the Music Library, providing access to over 3.2 million volumes. Resources include over 600 databases, approximately 94,000 e-journal titles, over 655,000 e-books, and 1,100 print journal subscriptions.

The MD Anderson Library has over 300 computers divided between two labs for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Houston. The Academic Research Center focuses on the research and study needs of patrons, while the Learning Commons caters to their high-end multimedia and collaborative study needs.

The UH Libraries Mission

We will anticipate and respond to the ways our users find, create and share knowledge, and we will be fully integrated into the teaching and learning process. We will provide a highly interactive, personalized library experience for each user and welcoming spaces for collaboration and discovery. On campus and online, we will be a valued partner in the academic life of our students, faculty and community.

The UH Libraries also all share a unique vision called the Strategic Directions, a vital tool that guides the Libraries into the future.

Other Libraries

There are other libraries on the UH main campus that are not a part of the UH Libraries system.  These are the Conrad N. Hilton Library & Archives and the John O'Quinn Law Library, and they are managed and maintained by their home colleges. Through a collaboration between libraries, students and faculty of UH Clear Lake and UH Downtown have the ability to check out circulating volumes.

About the MD Anderson Library

The MD Anderson Library was occupied in 1950 and dedicated on April 1, 1951. Since then, three additions have been made. The first was completed in 1968 and is known as the Blue Wing (architects: Staub and Rather, expanded to Staub, Rather, and Howze). The second was completed in 1977, and is formally named for MD Anderson Foundation trustee John H. Freeman, but is better known as the Brown Wing (architects: Kenneth Bentsen Associates). The third was completed in 2005 and is called the Gold Wing (architects: Shepley Bulfinch Richardson and Abbott). This addition, designed in conjunction with a major renovation of the existing building, added 48% more space to the library.

For more information, please see this more detailed history of the Libraries.

Permalink: http://info.lib.uh.edu/p/about-libraries